Single review: Robbie Williams – Go Gentle

The first proper single from Swings Both Ways, the second swing album from Robbie Williams, the beautiful Go Gentle isn’t the traditional crashing, click-your-fingers kind of song, instead favoring a subdued lyrical poignancy over the more expected explosive excitement.

Released on November 11th (with the album following on the 18th), Go Gentle is a simple, swiftly moving, minor piano tune. Its heartfelt lyrics are nicely punctuated with a brass band which flourishes during the songs choruses, culminating with the poignant line “when you need me I’ll be there for you”.

In an interview with Magic FM, Robbie confessed that Go Gentle was written for his daughter, Teddy. He said:

Go Gentle is a promise I’m making to my daughter. It was written when she first arrived on the planet and I’d been a selfish pop star for most of my life and then all of a sudden I’ve been asked to take care of this whole person. I still am scared that I’m not up to the task! I’m doing a good job of being dad but it’s scary, you have to look after this person for the whole of their life, I’m not very good at even looking after me!”

A music video is in the works, but in the meantime you can see the Go Gentle‘s lyric video at the end of this post.

You can preorder Go Gentle and the whole Swings Both Ways album from iTunes. You can also purchase the cheekily brassy and excited track Shine My Shoes (review here) now to tide you over until the albums release.

Also be sure to keep up to date on all the latest Robbie Williams news over on his official website.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers

