An interview with…Kendall Vertes

An interview with...Kendall Vertes

Beginning her dance career at the tender age of only 18 months old, Dance Moms star Kendall Vertes first appeared on the hit Lifetime show in 2012. An obviously talented dancer, she quickly won a place on the coveted Abby Lee Dance Company (ALDC) elite competition team.

Since joining the show, Kendall has been pushed to the very limits by competitive dance teacher and ALDC owner Abby Lee Miller, resulting in shouting, arguing and tears (and that’s just from Kendall’s mother Jill!). However despite all of this Kendall has flourished into a mature and passionate young dancer, embracing the many opportunities that have become available to her since appearing on Dance Moms.

While she is still only 11, the future is undoubtedly bright for Kendall: The exposure the show has given her, combined with her undeniable talents and dedication, means that whichever path she chooses in life she will be a successful and shining star, and a true inspiration to dancers around the world.

Kendall was happy to answer some of my questions:

How did you originally get into dancing?

I got into dancing because of my big sister.  I remember always being at the dance studio, watching and waiting for my sister, Ryleigh.  I wanted to be just like her.

Are there any dancers that inspire you?

Melanie Moore and Travis Wall inspire me right now.  I met both of them at a convention and I just thought they were so amazing and cool!

How has appearing on Dance Moms changed your life?

Because of Dance Moms I am recognized everywhere I go.  People want their picture with me and my mom all the time.  I guess you could say I have fans now that I didn’t have before.

What has been your favorite dance to perform and why?

One of my favorite dances to perform is my solo called Applause, it’s fast and sassy, but my favorite dance is a duet with Maddie called Bodies Electric.

Is Abby Lee Miller any different in real life to how she appears in the show?

Abby is sometimes nice and sometimes mean. It doesn’t matter if the cameras are on or off, she is always Abby!

Can you tell me about the other dancers on the team, what’s it like working with them?

I love all of the girls on my team!  We all get along like sisters, sometimes we argue but we always make up. I couldn’t imagine spending my days with anyone else.

Kendall and her mom Jill

How do you deal with it when the stress builds up and things start to get on top of you?

I try to remember my mom in my head saying “it’s a TV show” when I start to get stressed out or feel overwhelmed. It also helps to know that the other girls go through the same feelings that I do, we are all in this together.

How important is it to you to have a life outside of the dance studio?

My mom keeps me in school and doesn’t let me be home schooled. School for me is really the only thing I do outside of dance.  School is very normal to me, everywhere else I’m kind of a celebrity…but not in school!

Where do you see yourself in 10, 15 years time?

I just love to dance…so I want to be a movie star that dances!

What would be your dream job if dancing suddenly wasn’t an option?

If I didn’t dance, my dream job would be to be an actress and a mom.

Do you have any advice for people wanting to get into dancing?

I think everyone in the world should dance, no matter how good or bad you are at it. Dancing is healthy for you and helps you to express yourself.  You never know where dancing will take you in life. My advice would be to stick with it even if it gets hard, keep working to make yourself the best dancer you can be.

Do you have any messages for your many fans out there?

I’m honored to be on dance moms, I love that fans want to meet me and watch me dance. To all the Dance Mom fans out there, thank you for your support!

Thanks for answering my questions!

You’re welcome, thank you!


You can keep up to date with Kendall by following her Twitter account or visiting her official website. You can also follow Jill on her Twitter account.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “An interview with…Kendall Vertes

  1. Marielle says:

    Kendall, you are my favorite dancer ever!! I dance too and i want to be just like you one day. Dance moms is my favorite show and i really want to be part of the team. But, i don’t live in los angelus i live in new jersey so its really far away. Bye!! I am going to keep watching you and the team on tv:)

Leave a Reply

