An interview with…Chloe Lukasiak

An interview with...Chloe Lukasiak

As a passionate, inspiring and massively talented dancer, Chloe Lukasiak is one of the original members of the Abby Lee Dance Company (ALDC) elite competition team as featured in Lifetime’s hit show Dance Moms.

She (with a little help from her wonderfully supportive and encouraging mother Christi) has battled her way to become the best dancer that she can be despite whatever hindrances and setbacks she has faced, she has persevered and striven to become even better, becoming an inspiration to people around the world (you can read my full article “what we could all learn from Dance Moms underdog Chloe Lukasiak” here).

Life as an ALDC elite competition team dancer AND star of Dance Moms is a gruelling one, and there is a lot involved in her day to day life. So let’s pick it apart and take a look at the average day in the life of Chloe:

Chloe’s day starts at 6:30am, when she gets up, gets ready and goes to school from 7:30am until 2:30pm. 2:30pm until 4pm she travels to the dance studio and grabs something to eat before filming begins at 4. Dancing and filming goes on until 6:30pm, then she tries to fit in homework before dancing and filming resumes at 8pm until 10pm. After that it’s just a case of getting home, getting a shower and finishing homework before finally getting to bed at around 11-11:30!

It’s a long and busy day by anyone’s standards, but luckily Chloe is strong minded and driven, enjoying the challenges each and every day throws her way.

Chloe was happy to answer some of my questions:

How did you originally get into dancing?

My mom put me in dance when I was two. She said she thought every little girl was supposed to take ballet class.

Are there any dancers that inspire you?

Oh my gosh, yes! I love to search for dancers online and watch others dance. I can be inspired by someone famous or someone I see at a dance competition.

How has appearing on Dance Moms changed your life?

Well, my mom and dad have tried to make sure my life at home is “normal”. I still go to regular school, have homework, chores, get my cell phone taken away. You know, normal stuff. But it’s cool when I hear that someone I look up to watches our show. Like Jennifer Lawrence. I’m like, “wait?! Jennifer Lawrence knows who I AM???!!!”

What has been your favorite dance to perform and why?

I just love to be onstage. And it’s so humbling when other kids tell me that they look up to me. It’s an amazing feeling so I feel like I have to make good choices so I’m a good role model.

Is Abby Lee Miller any different in real life to how she appears in the show?

She’s tougher!

Can you tell me about the other dancers on the team, what’s it like working with them?

We have been friends forever so it’s just like it’s always been. We were a team long before there were ever cameras, so we have the best stories from forever ago. But I really miss Brooke and Paige.

Chloe and her mom Christi

How do you deal with it when the stress builds up and things start to get on top of you?

My mom and dad help a lot. If I have a bad day, I get to say everything to my mom that I wish I could say to the person who made me feel bad. But just on the car ride home. When we get home, we leave it at the door. Unless it’s REALLY bad, then I talk to my dad. I feel like there’s nothing I can’t say to him. It just feels good to get it all out.

How important is it to you to have a life outside of the dance studio?

Very! I never want to miss out on all the stuff my friends are doing, but sometimes my schedule doesn’t let that happen. So I do as much as I can, when I can!

Where do you see yourself in 10, 15 years time and where do you want to go in life?

I want to be a professional dancer and an actress. But then I want to be a paediatrician too and a mom. And eventually, a dance mom! And then my mom would be a dance GRANDMA! Ha!

Do you have any advice for people wanting to get into dancing?

If you love it, go for it! It’s never too late!

Do you have any messages for your many fans out there?

Thank you all much for your love and support. On my worst days, it’s you that pick me up, so I thank you! Kisses!


You can keep up to date with Chloe by following her Twitter account or visiting her official website. You can also follow Christi on her Twitter account.

BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE…Chloe and Christi are embarking on a two-week UK tour (full dates below. You can dance with Chloe, get autographs and photos and generally have a good time. Be sure to click here to secure your tickets as soon as possible to avoid disappointment!

24/07/2014 – Dublin, Ireland (2 events)
25/07/2014 – Stirling, UK (2 events)
26/07/2014 – Hebburn, UK (2 events)
27/07/2014 – Hartlepool, UK (2 events)
30/07/2014 – Wythenshawe, UK (2 events)
01/08/2014 – London, UK (2 events)
02/08/2014 – London, UK (2 events)
03/08/2014 – Dibden, UK (2 events)
05/08/2014 – London, UK (2 events)

Tagged , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “An interview with…Chloe Lukasiak

  1. You are such a well spoken young lady, Chloe! Thank you for being such a wonderful, positive role model for other young girls.I wish you continued success in all that you do.

    • Joanna says:

      I have always loved chloe as a dancer and I love dance moms as well. Chloe and Paige are probobly my favourite obviously chloe and Paige our best friends. And it’s sad they left the team.

      • Joanna says:

        It’s sad Brooke and Paige left the team and I know tht chloe misses paige so much.

        Chloe ur a amazing dancer!❤😄

  2. CG says:

    I hope we fans lift you up when you feel down – sometimes when I am sad, I watch your performance of “Dream on a Star” on youtube, and it’s enough to make me feel better. You have that joy and wonder in your dancing that makes it inspiring and beautiful. I was watching some of the So You Think You Can Dance auditions and saw some contemporary and lyrical dances that look like they would be perfect for you… the next step in your repertoire someday! 🙂

  3. CG says:

    Also, Christi- thank you for always standing up for Chloe. You’re an amazing mom.

  4. joan colindres says:

    Please come to NY long island! BTW ily soo much you make me happy when I’m upset and make me dance maybe in the future I can meet you I just wish!! 😘❤

  5. Janet697 says:

    It is so nice to see a polite sweet girl like Chloe after all the garbage Abby does to her every day. Chloe keep up with your love of dancing as you are fabulous atit and remember to follow your dreams.

  6. Samantha says:

    Chloe I love you just like I love my mom!your beautiful,talented,and most of all my inspiration! Imiss the twinnies 😭😭😭💜 and I hope you guys can still have your double wedding🎀👯from season 1 to season 4 you have grown as a dancer so much👯👸! If you ever get a chance go on Instagram and go on the hashtag #savethetwinnies then go on YouTube and look up twinnies forever dance moms two in a billion!it is so cute i cried when I watched it😭😘.well I know your super busy and I don’t want to waist anytime of yours so bye I love you and never quit dance bye😘😍😚😗😙💛💙💜💚❤️💗🎀💕💖💞💘💋👯🌺⭐️🌠🌹all go these icons describe you
    -Samantha Tracy🌺

  7. Jane Evans says:

    Daddy and Christi Lukiasiak. You are this girl’s rock and have done a fab job in making Chloe understand that her identity is not determined by what someone else says about her. I hope one day, somehow, Chloe and Abby’s relationship can be restored, repentance, forgiveness and all that……
    Keep dreaming Chloe, keep believing, keep being open to learning but more importantly, keep being the compassionate, humble and forgiving young lady you are. You are an inspiration to all girls out there. Even big ones. God bless you. X

  8. Linda Roesch says:

    From the first day I saw Dance Moms, Chloe you were my favorite. With all the problems with Abby, I almost stopped watching. I made a pact with myself if Chloe is gone, so am I. You are so graceful, beautiful and a fantastic dancer. Praying for a great season for you. ❤

  9. Cheer mom says:

    Chloe & Christi I love to watch you both every week! I have been on team Chloe since day one! Christi you are a great mom and a great person! You say what you think and you don’t stab anyone in their back you say what you think right to their face! You have Chloe’s best interest at heart and you give Chloe such good advice and support! Chloe I would love to see you dance at Studio Larkin! You would get better choreography so you could blow the competition away “Maddie”! Nothing against her she is very talented but at least the odds would be even! You won the Geoffrey ballet scholarship because you are a really great technical & graceful dancer! Your talent speaks for itself you don’t need to win all these “so called competitions” that we have all seen that Abby has messed with the placements. The fact that Lifetime lets Abby do this and they don’t stop her is a disgrace to the Lifetime channel. Lifetime is supposed to be a family oriented life lesson channel and by condoning the actions of Abby is the trash that they claim not to be! Shame on Lifetime and shame on Abby! Melissa would run over a small child if she thought it would help Maddie she showed that by letting Maddie compete against Mackenzie leaving Mackenzie no chance at all to win! “Hence the small child” Mackenzie the other child which is how Melissa treats her! All the girls are beautiful and talented and I wish them the best. Christi and Chloe I would hate not watching you every week but you don’t need Abby to make you great. I wouldn’t let her coach my dog and definitely not my child! I wish you both great success in spite of Abby! Just do you Chloe and that will serve you well in the future! Best wishes to you both!!

  10. Deb Purdell says:

    Chloe is an amazing and beautiful person. She is mature elegant and very much a lady. Watching her confidence be destroyed as well as her love for dancing is so sad. She is such a beautiful, talented and passionate young lady it’s so sad seeing Abbeys abusive nature toward Chloe. She should shut down. I would love to see a show just where those talented you g girls can dance without be torn apart. They have such a gift. Chloe is by far the most acceptional one. Maddie is spoiled and her mom puts her above little Mackenzie and she is also a very sore loser, because the adults have built her up so. Chloe if you leave the show good for you kiddo. Enjoy being a kid who can laugh and spend time with her friends. Life is far to short. Bestof luck to you Chloe

  11. Bahar says:

    I and all of my friends Love you Chloe !

Leave a Reply

