Short story: ‘A Magnificent Meeting’

DOWI never in a million years thought I’d experience something like that, but there I was, drifting lazily in the sapphire blue sway, face to face with one of the most majestic animals in the world.

I believe they are called ‘hoomans’, or something like that, and this particular hooman I encountered seemed equally as interested in me. It was a male specimen, and he was wearing a strange, tight outfit. Beautiful. Kind of.

Small, curious, funny: the hooman just appeared out of nowhere. He kept coming and swimming alongside me, stroking my body, touching my nose, that kind of thing. It was honestly quite sensual and relaxing. He then proceeded to hold onto my fin while I swam along, pulling him. Luckily it wasn’t a chubby hooman specimen.

Before he left he pulled out a small box and pointed it at me…it flashed several times. Not sure what was going on there but I smiled. I say smiled, it often comes across as a passive aggressive grimace. I do hope the wasn’t getting that vibe off of me though. I’m all about the peace and love. Just like Ringo Starfish.

You see, as a shark we get a lot of bad press, but we’re lovely really. Well, except Jaws, he’s gotten a bit moody and senile in his old age. Some people (albeit a very small number of people) think we’re amazing, others just can’t get past the negative stereotype! It’s a pity.

But if the hoomans got to know us, if they came to visit us more often, if the understood us a little bit more, then maybe we’d get along swimmingly!

Ah well, shark can dream, can’t he?!

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Short story: ‘A Magnificent Meeting’

  1. Roberta Albrecht says:

    Great short story! Thanks for sharing! Roberta

    From: Josh Gills Blog To: bert-ta@snet.net Sent: Sunday, January 10, 2016 12:43 PM Subject: [New post] Short story: ‘A Magnificent Meeting’ #yiv3759448692 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3759448692 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3759448692 a.yiv3759448692primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3759448692 a.yiv3759448692primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3759448692 a.yiv3759448692primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3759448692 a.yiv3759448692primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3759448692 WordPress.com | Josh Gill posted: “I never in a million years thought I’d experience something like that, but there I was, drifting lazily in the sapphire blue sway, face to face with one of the most majestic animals in the world.I believe they are called ‘hoomans’, or something like tha” | |

Leave a Reply

